The Cathedral of Palermo is a remarkable blend of history, celebrates different architectural styles owing to various stages of construction and is dedicated to the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary into heaven.
This grand structure was built in 1185 by archbishop Gualtiero Offamilio.
The right side of the building, with advanced features turrets and a large porch in Gothic-Catalan (current access), built around 1465, overlooks the square. The portal of this entrance is a magnificent work of Antonio Gambara, executed in 1426, while the beautiful wooden doors are of Miranda (1432). The Lady in the mosaic is of the thirteenth century, and the two monuments on the walls, works of the early eighteenth century, representing Charles III of Bourbon to the right and Vittorio Amedeo II of Savoy on the left.
The part of the apse pressed between towers is the most original of the twelfth century , while the most tampered with is the left side, where there is a beautiful portal Gaginesque the early sixteenth century .
The interior has a Latin cross with three naves, divided by pillars. In the first two chapels of the right aisle are the tombs of emperors and royal settled there in the eighteenth century, after the restoration, which moved from their original site, however, was in the same basilica.
Roman sarcophagus in place on the right wall, there are the remains of Constance, sister of the King of Aragon and wife of Frederick II, who died in 1222. In the background, under the canopy mosaic, there are the tombs of Roger II, who died in 1154, and his daughter Constance, who died in 1198.
The interior, which has undergone profound transformations in the late eighteenth and early nineteenth century, is a Latin cross with three naves divided by columns (4 columns embedded with tetrastyle groups from the old building Rogerian) with statues of saints that were part the decoration of the tribune of Gagini.
In the nave the right, the first and second chapel, adjoining each other, maintain the imperial and royal tombs of the Normans, which revolves around a rich history and romantic interest.
To the right of the sanctuary is the Chapel of Santa Rosalia with the altar that holds the seventeenth-century silver urn (450 kg), containing the relics of the patron saint of Palermo, carried in procession during the feast of the patron on July 15.